Sunday, April 20, 2008

My Studio

As I mentioned a week ago, I have a place to live now. I'm just wrapping up my first weekend that I've been in this place, and that I've had the freedom to come and go as I please, under my own power, which has gone a hugely long way to making me feel more at home here. It also shortens my daily commute from 3.5 hours to 2 hours (round-trip), which has had a rather restorative effect on my sanity. As you may have guessed from my post on the 11th, I was pretty stressed out, and my grip on sanity was tenuous at best.
My new place is a studio on the ground floor of a 3 floor house. I have my own shower and kitchen, but I share the toilet and bathroom sink with the rest of the house, who also has another full washroom of their own. As it's happened, the toilet on the ground floor, just outside my room, is pretty much my own. My bedroom is enormous by British standards (and actually bigger than either of the rooms in my old place on 19th), but it's also my living room, so it's a bit like the batchelor pad basement suite I had in Surrey, years ago. I also have a small back garden area, which will be nice this summer, I expect. It faces west, so it'll get evening sun, which is much more useful to me than morning sun. My bedroom window also faces that direction, so I won't have morning sun shining in on me.
The area I'm in is beautiful, which I went into a little bit in the previous post. It has all the amenities I'll likely need right close by. I have two different routes I can commute, both of which involve both bus and tube, and both of which take about an hour, door-to-door, with a short stop to get a coffee and muffin on the way to the office. I'm in Chiswick, quite close to Acton, with a park across the street. The road I'm on is a dead-end road, so the traffic is light. I don't want to post the actual location in such a public location.
There are, I think, 5 other rooms in the house. In the house at the moment are Carmen (Portuguese), Yan (Chinese), Guiseppie (Italian), Wendy (British), and I think one other girl named Maria who I haven't seen much of. Guiseppie is moving out at the end of April, so I don't know who will be moving into his room. I could end up in a house of all women, which frankly is rather terrifying. They're all fairly quiet people, which is nice, but friendly and sociable too. I think I'll be quite happy here.
It's getting a bit late now, so I'm going to go try to round up something to eat (I haven't had dinner yet,) before heading to bed.

1 comment:

Meighan said...

Ooo you have a yard! I hope you'll put some plants out there ;)